Have you ever had a clafoutis? I hadn’t until about 2 years ago, I think I was following one of my favorite garden bloggers and discovered a delicious way to make a dessert that didn’t require a specific fruit. Potentially any fruit will taste scrumptious this way.

It sounds fancy, but it couldn’t be simpler and uses very country-like ingredients. I haven’t found a vegan version, but let me know if you find anything.

Start with about 3 cups of sliced or cut up fruit or whole berries.

To make the batter combine these ingredients into a blender:

1/2 cup sugar

3/4 cup whole milk

1/4 cup cream

3 eggs

A pinch of salt

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2/3 cup all purpose flour

Blend and scrape down sides if needed.

Heat oven to 350°F and then dust your baking dish of choice with a tablespoon of sugar. I just used my Pyrex cake pan, but I think it works in a pie dish, brownie pan, whatever you have on hand, really.

P7191919.JPG

Pour half the batter into the baking dish.

Place fruit into pan and arrange prettily if you like.

Pour the remaining batter into dish.

Bake for 50 – 65 minutes. Mine needed the full time in there. You’ll see it rise quite high and be bubbly, and when it cools it will collapse. Look for a hint of golden brown.

The clafoutis is custardy, tart, slightly sweet, and creamy smooth. I LOVE clafoutis. When peaches are fully coming in, I’ll be making another and hopefully sharing.

I hope you’re enjoying your summer and all the blessings that come with it. (I’m thinking food, of course.)

Peace and love,

Kristan

Leave a comment